Live-Tweeting Sec. of State John Kerry’s Keynote Address at Frontiers in Development Forum

Due to my interest in poverty issues, I decided to live-tweet Secretary of State John Kerry’s keynote address at the Frontiers in Development Forum, which was hosted by USAID and was held Sept. 18-19 at the Ronald Reagan building in Washington, D.C.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that some of my tweets were favorited and retweeted by people and organizations in the development community. However, as I periodically skimmed the Twitter feed of the hashtag #EndPoverty – which was being used by the forum’s attendees, the development community and the State Department – Kerry’s speech didn’t seem to generate a lot of online chatter except for a few comments and live-tweets from some members of the development community.

Here is how my live-tweeting went:

michaelspaeth14 retweet of State Dept. tweet

While I wait for the speech to start, I decide to provide some info from the press release:

Tweet 1

Tweet 2

A sprinkling of my own interests:

Tweet 3

It’s 9:30, the speech is behind schedule already. Not entirely surprised- that’s what usually happens with high-profile speakers.

Tweet 4

(Wishful thinking.)

Tweet 5

The lights dim and the stage is reset for Kerry’s speech. This goes on for several minutes, with what sounds like elevator music playing in the background.

While I’m waiting, I decide to provide some more background info:

Tweet 6

Then, a member of the House of Representatives introduces Kerry and says how great he is.

Tweet 7

And finally, the speech begins.

Tweet 8

Tweet 9

Tweet 10

As Kerry is saying that, I’m reminded of discussions we’ve had about social media, sharing and our current networked society that we’ve had in this class and in some of my other Comm classes.

Tweet 11

Tweet 12

No big surprise there.

Tweet 13

I get a notification: my tweet has been favorited! By this organization:

Favorite 1

Although I’m happy that someone is actually paying attention to my live tweets, I wonder why a professional organization focusing on poverty issues has favorited my tweet. At the time, I hadn’t updated my profile to say that I’m a senior at the University of Michigan studying Political Science and Communication Studies and taking a journalism class. It just had my name and my profile picture. So how would they know if the information I was reporting was accurate? I could be some random person in some obscure part of the world making things up. Had they heard that exact quote themselves and knew it was accurate? Or were they just putting blind faith in the reporting of some random Twitter user (me)?

This ties back to our discussions about the benefits and drawbacks of citizen journalism.

Anyway, back to the speech.

Tweet 14

Favorite 2

Another favorited tweet! Again, by IDIN.

Tweet 15

Tweet 16

I get another notification: this time, my tweet has been retweeted!

Retweet 1

By this person:

Retweet profile

Who is Executive Vice President of this organization:

Retweet org profile

This Twitter user is in a high-level position in a professional organization focusing on hunger and poverty issues, and he’s retweeting a tweet from a random Twitter user (me) who could be just making things up. Again, I think about what this means for the future of journalism and professional organizations in general.

Tweet 18

Tweet 19

Tweet 20

Furiously typing away, trying to capture as much info as possible…

Tweet 21

Tweet 22

Tweet 23

I thought that that last tweet might generate some favorites, retweets, etc., since I read news articles all the time about prominent politicians and government officials saying that Congress should or should not pass certain bills. But alas, the tweet remains untouched.

Tweet 24

Tweet 25

Go U.S.A.

Tweet 26

And…done! Whew. Time for a break.

Some time passes, and I engage in some brief post-game analysis with Louisa Lim:

louisa lim conversation 1

louisa lim conversation 2

louisa lim conversation 3

louisa lim conversation 4

And that’s a wrap! Looking forward to my next live-tweeting adventure!

Leave a comment